Back to Calls for Entry

Annual Fellowship Awards

The 2022 Annual Fellowship Awards call will open in the fall of 2021.
More information coming shortly!

Each year, Houston Center for Photography selects an expert writer, critic, or curator to identify two artists from hundreds of submissions who exemplify excellence and innovation in their approaches to new photography.  The Houston Center for Photography Fellowship and the Carol Crow Fellowship Awards aim to highlight each artist’s work and to offer them a platform and the support to continue developing their projects. One Houston-based artist (residing within a 100 mile radius of Houston) will receive the Carol Crow Memorial Fellowship and another artist, from anywhere in the world, will receive the HCP Fellowship. The two selected artists will each be awarded $3,000, a solo-exhibition at HCP, and a spread in spot magazine. The competition is open to all photographic, film, video, and lens-based installation work.

The 2021 Fellowship Exhibition will be announced soon.

Past recipients, HCP staff, Board, Advisory Council, Committee members, and their significant others are not eligible.

All Entrants must be, or become, HCP members at the time of submission. To become an HCP member, click here.

Lucy Gallun, Associate Curator in the Department of Photography at The Museum of Modern Art, New York, was the juror for the 2020 Annual Fellowship Awards.

Drew Sawyer, the Phillip Leonian and Edith Rosenbaum Leonian Curator at the Brooklyn Museum, was the juror for the 2021 Annual Fellowship Awards.


Membership Fee: Starting at $40
Total Costs: $40+
View Past Fellowship Winners


To submit your application, click below.




Drew Sawyer is the Phillip Leonian and Edith Rosenbaum Leonian Curator at the Brooklyn Museum and a contributor to Aperture, Artforum, Mousse, and OSMOS, among other publications. His recent exhibitions include Art after Stonewall, 1969-1989 (2019), Garry Winogrand: Color (2019), and Liz Johnson Artur: Dusha (2019). Sawyer holds a Ph.D. in Art History and Archaeology from Columbia University and is a recipient of the Association of Art Museum Curators’ Award for Excellence.