

1441 West Alabama Houston, Texas 77006 (713) 529-4755 hcponline.org

November 8, 2021

Dear friend of Houston Center for Photography,

This has been an extraordinary and often difficult year for all of us. It was also a year of transition for HCP as we navigated the pandemic, said goodbyes to Ashlyn Davis Burns and embraced Dorota Biczel as our inspired new Executive Director and Curator. However, thanks to a creative and dedicated staff and a generous, steadfast membership and board of directors, HCP has not ceased to thrive and innovate as it pursues its mission to increase society's appreciation of photography and its evolving role in contemporary culture. We thank all of you for the support that makes our programs possible. Today, we urge you to renew your committment to HCP by making a tax-deductibale donation to our annual fund.

HCP and its staff responded with ingenuity and courage as we transitioned to meet the challenges of the past year. Exhibiting artist Odette England brought together women artists from around the world to encourage young girls to follow their creative passions. *SPOT* magazine provided a way for BFA and MFA photography students to present their thesis shows. Online versions of public programs and classes gave artists and students the resources to process and document this unprecedented time. Through HCP's community engagement programs, isolated children who were battling cancer at Texas Children's Hospital received virtual visits with teaching artists; and through our *Collaborations* program, high school students conceived their own exhibition, which the magazine *Glasstire* named as one of the top five in Texas in July 2021.

HCP's programs have also demonstrated photography's ability to illuminate our city's complex cultural intersections. Our 2020 Carol Crow Memorial Fellow, first-generation American Briana Vargas, worked in the Mexican province of San Luis Potosí to unearth ancestral connections to indigenous language and place. In our current exhibition, three respected emerging artists from Mexico City explore light and its impact on perception and landscape but also firmly reject any identity-based claims associated with the land. Work like this, supported by HCP, strengthens and celebrates Houston's place as a 21st century global city while questioning our assumptions related to photography, its processes, and functions.

Houston and its artists deserve arts and cultural institutions that are as diverse and rich as the city we call home—institutions that will strengthen and amplify their voices, and project them from the Gulf Coast to the world. We are excited to be a part of an organization that fills this purpose and to work with the many people who care about and strengthen HCP. In a testament to our belief in HCP's mission and in the value of the work ahead, HCP's Board of Directors has pledged to contribute \$30,000 to kick off this year's annual fund drive. We invite you to join this effort by giving generously today.

Finally, save the date for HCP's Annual Print Auction, scheduled for February 17, 2022. You can expect a revamped format and many exciting surprises.

Thank you for your support. We look forward to seeing you soon at HCP!

1at

Patricia Eifel President of the Board of Directors

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

OFFICERS Patricia Eifel, President Nancy O'Connor, Vice President & Parliamentarian Kheli Willets, Secretary Paul Charles, Treasurer

Johanne Beaulieu Gatto Sebastien Boncy Gin Braverman Karen Chiao McStephen Dadzie Lindsay Davis Piper Faust Tom Flaherty Amy Krasner Bryn Larsen

Aynsley Letzerich

MEMBERS AT LARGE

Nena Marsh Tania Pramir Katherine Robinson Joy Simpson William Snypes Rebekah Tee

ADVISORY COUNCIL

Edward R. Allen, III Chris Bailey Fred Baldwin Gay Block Peter Brown Keith Carter Fernando Castro Jereann Chaney Catherine Couturier Malcolm Daniel Ashlyn David Burns Jeffrey DeBevec Steven Evans Stephan Hillerbrand Howard Hilliard Tracy Xavia Karner Jean Karotkin Frazier King Len Kowitz Nicole Longnecker Mike Marvins Delilah Montoya Joan Morgenstern Judy Nyquist Ed Osowski Michael Pearson Madeline Yale Preston Christopher Rauschenberg Bob Schwartz Laura Torgerson Anne Wilkes Tucker Wendy Watriss Del Zogg

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR AND CURATOR Dorota Biczel

Dorota/Biczel Executive Director and Curator